Hi I'm Edward from NC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi I'm Edward from NC

I have been performing in worship bands since 1997 and now help with the worship band during service. My favorite instrument is the 5 string bass guitar, but, recently since I have not been in a traveling band have started playing the acoustic and singing lead.

Since I am new to this site???? I have a question for the worship leaders. How do you transition a traditional church into a modern worship service to better reach the younger adults(who outnumber the +55 group). The current worship leader is still hesitant to move into the contemporary songs.
    Peace.

For us we have two services one classic and one contemporary. It works great for us. If that is not an option for you then I would recommend caution and a gradual change introducing a few contemporary songs as you go. However, the worship leader and Pastor have to be on board.

Comment

I have done this transitioning work in more churches than I care to remember! Here are a few thoughts from my experience, for what they're worth:

First, I would never try to transition a church without taking the people along on the journey. If the church changes and they're not ready or committed to the change and its reasons, they'll leave. It's important to start a conversation in the church that allows people to express their views and fears (if any), and that also allows the leaders to express their reasons for wanting the change. If this can be done through questioning, rather than telling, this is even better.