Too Old for Worship??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too Old for Worship??

Hello All, I am a 60 something Christian drummer in a church that has 2 services on a Sunday and about 300-400 attending. We have a worship pastor and four other worship leaders leading teams on a three month schedule. We do the current worship style with songs from Chris Tomlin, Lincoln Brewster, Starfield and others. I have been drumming on teams for about 5 years until lately.

I have removed myself from the rotation for a couple of reasons. The first one being that we currently have eight drummers,and I am the oldest of the eight (six of the eight are under 25) and I kinda feel that it might be more important for the young drummers to be involved in the worship, Also maybe I was being selfish but I ended up being up once in the 12 week schedule. It made me feel out of touch with the songs.

I'm not sure where to go with this? I have some opportunities for secular music but I don't know if my heart is in that.

I'd appreciate your experiences and input.

BobbyD

My recommendation is to move to Panama City Beach, FL where I can put you to work and the weather is warm. Bring 2 of the other 8 drummers down here with you to prove that Winnipeg is not being selfish themselves with drummers. I in turn will trade seven of my acoustic guitar players (willing to consider raising the number of acoustic players if necessary). :}

In all seriousness, I would say it depends on the vision of your church leadership. Their vision and mission should help to answer your questions appropriately.

I may post more later but it's getting late and I have an early morning. I'll check in later.

Comment

You should probably talk directly to the ministry director about that. Just be honest. Say to him/her what you said here, and pose it as a question. Where do you go from here?