Web site uses.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Web site uses.

My church is fairly new and until just recently there hasn't been much of an emphasis on our website. Actually the site was so bad that I was embarrassed to give the web address out. Well, we're finally getting to the point of getting a decent website. My question to you guys is what do you do with your website besides just giving general information about your church, announcements, and posting sermons or lessons online? I want make sure we use the website to its fullest potential. Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

I'm no pro, but I would think of the website as 2 separate sites in one.

1) Outsiders (New to "so and so church" link)
    2) Insiders

One of the main problems with church website design is that many will have WAY too much info on the front page. Keep it simple.

1) Outsiders: when someone who doesn't attend your church (especially a non-believer) visits your website they are essentially looking at 3 different things.

a) Will I fit in. What kind of pictures of REAL people from your church can you use to convey WHO your church is. Is your church a diverse group of smiling, happy well-dressed 20 somethings? If not, then please don't use that stock photo!! People want to know if people like THEM are at your church. Use real photos of real people.

b) Where is it? Location, location, location. Make sure that people know how to find your place. Make it plain and visible (also add MAIN gathering times in a very visible location on the front page).

c) What time? What good does it do us to convey who we are and where we are if people don't know WHEN our main gathering is. This is not a license to post ALL of your gathering times, just the MAIN gathering.

All of this info should be VERY, VERY visible. If I'm an outsider visiting your website, essentially I'm visiting your church without ever walking through the doors. Make sure it's a positive impact.