Newbie here and need help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here and need help

Hello, I need some serious help. We are a small church here in TN. We have a big screen TV for the congregation to view. This year we purchased a Pre Sonus 24.4.2. I would like to get the sound out of my laptop into the mixer and use the HDMI output for the video portion.

My questions are:

1 - Is this possible? What piece(s) of equipment do we need?

2 - Is there a way to run HDMI over 100 feet in length without degredation in signal that I am not aware of?

Thanks for your help in advance!

You'd have much better luck running 100 feet of audio and a short line of HDMI.

Nate
    Practical Worship

Please Pray For My Wife

Comment

Let me give you a scenario. We wanted to play a YouTube video. I had to be down front near the TV with the laptop plugged in to the HDMI port. To get the audio over the sanctuary mains, we had to put a mic beside the TV speaker. Kind of unprofessional wouldn't you say? I would love to operate everything from the sound room without going down front to interrupt the service. We do have an analog out for video from the sound room that we use sometimes but it looks awful. I am looking for something to give me HD video and sound through our mixer.

Comment

How far do you need to run from the TV to the sound board?

What do you use normally to get a signal to the TV?

Those two questions will help us answer better. That being said, knowing nothing else about your setup, something like an Apple TV might fix you up. Computer at the board plugged straight in for audio and wirelessly connected to an Apple TV at your TV. I'm sure there are other devices to fit that same setup I just am familiar with the Apple TV.
        Travis Paulding,
        Production & Technology Director, St. Simons Community Church
        www.sscommunitychurch.com
        twitter.com/tpaulding

Comment