Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Software Synth Advice

Hi,

I've been playing worship keyboard for many years, currently using a Yamaha stage piano and a Roland JP-8000 synth.
    the JP-8000 is great for 80's dance music, but struggles with sounds more suited to worship, so I've been thinking about a new synth.

However, I've noted that many are using a laptop and virtual synth to produce some pretty impressive sounds. I mostly use pads / organs / strings etc, sometimes with some loops or arpeginator type effects.

I've got a nice laptop that should be beefy enough for the job.

So... My question is: Is it a good idea to go the software synth route, and what would people recommend if so?

Well, I won't go into specifics because I just don't have the experience with particular software models. However, there are a few things to consider.

How handy are you with a computer? You won't like having a laptop sitting there waiting for you to mess with it if it intimidates you. It can be a super powerful tool in the right hands.

Are you dead certain of your laptop's reliability? A dedicated synth keyboard is just that...dedicated. A computer has to do all sorts of other things even at idle, while playing your synth models. There will be inherent problems unless the computer is super clean and well maintained. Put another way, I would not rely on a laptop to provide software models for my guitar.

Is it going to add to what you do? Of course...the perfect question. Synths are super fun to play with, but having a good idea of what kinds of sounds you are after and how you want to implement them will go a long way to making sure you aren't just fiddling during a service, but really serving the song. That being said, whatever your choice, you should take as much time as you can to familiarize yourself with your new gear. I've had my POD HD since October, and I am still spending 3 or 4 hours at a time learning new things about it.