Getting "that" sound

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting "that" sound

I apologize in advance if I'm not as clear as I would like... I am very new to this world of technological sounds >.<

So, I just bought Starfield's new album and the first track, Natural Disaster, kept me wondering about how to achieve certain sounds. Here's a link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=enI_2e2PzcA

How would one achieve that almost staticky sound that comes in at 0:07?

Also, how would one achieve that almost muffled sorta tone coming from the mic if they were to play this song live? It sounds like it runs through the whole song but it is most prominent when he says "flame" at around 0:36.

Any help would be greatly appreciated... I really want to learn more

There are a few different routes to take and it would be hard to tell how exactly without talking to the producer, engineer, or artist. If it is live and not some sort of synth instrument patch, then to get the sound to be as "large" as it does would be to double it (record it one or more times). This is probably NOT the case.

I'm just listening from my laptop but it sounds like some sort of synth guitar patch that may or maynot be played from a keyboard. I know I have a patch on mine that you can play and hold say, C below middle C, and then a quarter note later play middle C and the pitch will slide from one up to the other. When you release middle C, the pitch dives back down to the prior pitch.

OR it could just be some sort of pedal or sound setting from like a Line 6 HD500. These types of gear can make your guitar sound like a whale if you want (or an alien, robot, ray gun, etc.).