High pitched whine.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High pitched whine.

Okay, so I finally got my Carvin AE 185 out and brought my amp to practice. I put one output from the guitar through a DI into the system, the other to the amp. The problem is that there was a high pitched whine through the system. I realized that when I unplugged the power cord to the amp the whine stopped. The whine was there whether the amp was turned on or not. As soon as I unplugged it the whine went away. I tried my other guitarist's amp with the same result. I'm not sure what the problem is. Please help.
    Last edited by Mike Darley; 07-25-2008, 12:03 AM.

As a Drummer, I first had to look up what a Carvin AE 185 evevn was....I wasn't sure if it was an amp or Guitar. Commence laughing.

That's an interesting scenario, of which I can only think of a couple things. First, I assume you were sure that you used the 'input' jack on the amp. ( I know...sometimes it's the small things, though). Secondly, although it doesn't sound like a ground hum, was the power source of the Amp a good one? Did the other guitar players amp ring when He played HIS guitar through it? The only other thing I can think of, is that your jacks are wired wrong. Typically, when there are two jacks like that, they are wired in parallel. In this application however, they shouldn't be....they should be seperate internally. If you ever had it worked on, could the repair person have wired them in the typical parallel fashion? If they are parallel, then your amp is trying to act as the source, running through your guitar, and then into the system...possibly causing the noise. Are they active pickups? Another thing that causes odd HF rings are dying 9v batteries.

That's all I can think of. A guitarist may be able to add to this, but that's all I've got for now.

Comment