Using multi-effects pedal as worship guitarist

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using multi-effects pedal as worship guitarist

Hi, I'm Brandon and I play guitar for my church in VA. I recently bought a Digitech RP1000, its an integrated effect system, multi effect board. I just started playing guitar a little under a year ago and this is my first time not using stomp boxes while playing electric. What are your thoughts on using this multi-effects pedal? Do any of you use a multi-effects pedal for worship?

I use the RP500- same as you got with one row of switches instead of two. I run an XLR to the board and the left 1/4" out line to a powered floor wedge for my monitor. I play a Squier strat with hot-rodded pickups and an Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro through it and it does a good job.

Personally, I really like mine. That being said, I think there are some important things to know.

One, it will take a little time to get dialed in. There are a LOT of tweaks to EQ, amp & cab selection, and pedal models. It took me 6 months to tweak and tune to where I could get it to sound like I wanted. The presets are kinda ok for some things, but I had to do a lot of trial and error.

With that, take advantage of the X-Edit software. The online community of user patches has some pretty useful stuff. But it'll take some time to really know how to tweak and tune things.

One thing I will say is that in my experience, the amp models seem to have the 'gain knob' cranked pretty high and strange EQ. I've found that backing the 'amp gain' off a bit and putting the EQ more neutral/even helps let the natural sound of the guitar come through. Actually most of the effects sound a lot better if you dial them back a bit. Then use the distortion and compression to get some more dirt out of it.