Keyboard/Synthesizer Techniques

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keyboard/Synthesizer Techniques

I have been playing keyboard/synthesizer with our praise band for about 8 months... so I'm a total newbie seeking to improve. I'm looking for ideas and suggestions for resources to learn new techniques to use. I have been using mostly polyphonic synthesizer pads and B3 organ sounds playing chords. A few months ago I learned to use chord inversions which greatly improved my abilities. I also know to play a percentage of the music based on the number of instruments in the praise band. I've watched and learned much from youtube instructional videos like http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gU7Se...eature=mh_lolz. What are some other techniques could I use?

thank you,

Steven

Welcome!

This might seem like a bonk in the head...but "listen".

I place monstrously high value on good keyboard players because they know how to listen to the music around them and respond/play very intelligently. It goes for any live musician in a group, but a good solid keyboard player who knows how to interpret the music being played and then apply themselves to it well is worth his/her weight in unobtanium-infused platinum. They can make a lively song go supernatural faster than any singer or guitar player I've heard.

Comment