Les Paul Project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Les Paul Project

I bought a cheap Silvertone LP on Craigslist the other day. I've been playing a MIM Strat since '98 that is lovely, but I wanted to expand my sound a bit and get something with humbuckers. Love the new guitar (and especially the price!) but I'd like to upgrade it a bit.

It's been professionally set up, but now I'd like to change the pickups. I'm new to the modding world, so I'm looking for some advice on inexpensive but nice sounding humbuckers. My budget is around 100-150 bucks, so I can't go too crazy (not that it would really be worth spending more on the pickups than the guitar itself...)

Advice/ideas? Thanks!

Originally posted by DanKMyers View Post
    I bought a cheap Silvertone LP on Craigslist the other day. I've been playing a MIM Strat since '98 that is lovely, but I wanted to expand my sound a bit and get something with humbuckers. Love the new guitar (and especially the price!) but I'd like to upgrade it a bit.

It's been professionally set up, but now I'd like to change the pickups. I'm new to the modding world, so I'm looking for some advice on inexpensive but nice sounding humbuckers. My budget is around 100-150 bucks, so I can't go too crazy (not that it would really be worth spending more on the pickups than the guitar itself...)

Advice/ideas? Thanks!

I guess that would depend on what kind of sound you are going for.

I put some DiMarzio super-distortion humbuckers on a Gibson Melody Maker and that thing SCREAMED!
    8-)

what? me worry?

Comment

Good point. I use pretty simple effects, just some light OD, a bit of delay, and reverb. Sometimes I'll throw in a phaser or tremolo, but I still keep things pretty subtle. I'm looking for a nice warm tone.
      Any suggestions?

Comment