!-- Beacon Ads Ad Code -->

Sponsor Ad:

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Which acoustic guitar strings do you use?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which acoustic guitar strings do you use?

I am still learning about what is best for my guitar and in which settings. I was curious if some of you that use acoustic guitars in worship, and especially if you lead with an acoustic, which guitar strings you use and why. I am getting ready to buy a pair or two for mine, and in the past it was just "buy some strings." But I know there is a difference. So if you guys could respond and give some advise.

The strings I am looking to get are: Elixir 11-52 (not sure if I need the polyweb or nanoweb)

Thanks in advance.

I used Elixirs once and didn't like them too much. But that's more preference and the guitar than a condemnation of the string. I've had two different acoustics, and had to use different strings on each of them to get the tone I wanted.

Currently I use D'addario EXP 17s. (13-56) Coated phosphor-bronze. They last a long time and sound great on my full-sized guitar.

My other guitar was smaller and thinner wood, so I used EXP 12s which are 80/20s and sound a little brighter. Elixirs sounded pretty good on that guitar, and lasted forever.

Comment

I MUST use Elixers because I seriously think I am a descendent of of "Alien" and I secrete acid out of my hands and eat through every other type of guitar sting I might get 1 or 2 good uses out any other strings before they start feeling dead. Elixers I get at least 7 or 8. I use .11 Polywebs because they have extra coating and I personally like the smoothness of them. Hope you like them

Comment