The perfect in ear monitoring mix

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The perfect in ear monitoring mix

Hi Folks my name is Darrell Ross and I am a worship leader from Northern Ireland. My backround is I am a Maths teacher/ I play at several churches leading worship/ and I do live sound for bands and functions.

I have been hooked on in ear monitors since i started to use them over 4 years ago and I am only now confident that I have got the right mix. There is very little help on Youtube or other forums in actually getting the right blend etc and the biggest issue... getting vocals to sound good.

Let me talk you through my bands current gear and then ill get into the breakdown of what I feel is essential....

My band use a presonus 16.4.2 mixing console (we love it) this is a digital mixer with an analogue feel it has 6 aux sends that we use for 6 mono IEM mixes. We have wireless packs ranging from sennheiser ew300 iems to even cheaper 200 thomann kits (which i highly rate for signal and quality). IF YOUR BUDGET IS SMALL YOU CAN MAKE IT WORK.... I have used little Behringer MA400 headphone amps and they are crystal clear especially for behringer gear!

The earphones.... I use Alien ears CFR3 custom moulds, I changed to these from a set of ultimate ears that I smashed up and I love them. My other guys use shure se215's which pack a great punch.... we got them for around 60 a pair.

My problem was even with all this gear... if i sound too close to my mic with the volume up at a level i needed my shells were vibrating and the sound was poor..... I now have added 3 things to the mix that will solve this...

reverb ..... I have a thick plate reverb on mine... this is my preference!

Delay.. I have a short slap delay, this really helps add a natural surrounding sound.