Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advanced Guitarist YouTube Channels?

Hi!

One of my goals in this year is for me to improve my guitar-playing chops. I am an acoustic guitarist, rhythm, no desire to become a lead electric guitarist... but that said, I really admire those musicians who incorporate playing a distinct melody (perhaps the melody of the song itself) while still strumming. Quite advanced stuff.

I do not have a goal to learn to play those U2-esque riffs that dominate much of today's worship scene. Not my thing. In most cases, I believe that removing such improves upon the song immensely, but that's my own personal opinion.

When I search YouTube for examples on how to play specific songs, the vast majority of them are the latter type of tutorials, and very little of the former.

For those who are in the know, what are your favorite advanced guitarist song tutorials, those of which tend to not mimic how the song is produced, but rather how the melody line goes? Thanks!
    Nick Alexander
    Host, The Prayer Meeting Podcast
    Worship that is Contemporary, Traditional, Charismatic, Contemplative, Spontaneous, based on the Church calendar, play it whenever you want.
    Find out what Nick Alexander can do for your conference, retreat or workshop.

It's been hard for me at least to find that kind of stuff. The advanced stuff tends to be more general theory.

It might be a more fruitful way to get there by learning/studying more theory related things like scales and modes and building your own melody line stuff. There seems to be quite a bit of that on the Tube. From what I see of people doing that, they use a lot of tools like inversions, triads, CAGED, that kind of stuff that give them a lot more chord shapes to work with.