"To the Chief Musician"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "To the Chief Musician"

This phrase appears 55 times in Psalms "To the Chief Musician". What does it mean? Where can I find more exhaustive information about it? Does/Can it have any basis/information for worship in its many forms today?

I am studying this but would like some input.

Thanks

I believe it to simply be information notifying us that what we are reading is a song. Secondly, I think we can glean from the phrase that there WAS such a thing as a "chief musician" role in OT faith. I'm not sure that we can dig much more from it.

Comment

• KMusek
      KMusek commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you!

It's my understanding that this phrase is because David was delivering these psalms to the temple musicians with instructions how to recite them. This is similar to leaders today give us directions.

For example- if you look at the places where "to the chief musician" is mentioned, it's often followed by instructions

Ps. 4- "With stringed instruments"
    Ps. 5- "With flutes"
    Ps. 6- "With stringed instruments. On an 8 string harp"
    Ps. 9- "To the tune of "Death of a Son"

Culturally, this is a time where there were temple musicians, namely Levite priests. David would write these psalms and deliver them to the chief temple musician to use in their worship. Because David was king, the temple was under his authority. Like any other group, there is someone who is a leader- a point person, contact, whatever you want to call them.

How it applies today? It would be someone writing a song with notes to the band saying "acoustic guitar intro" or "vocals only in the bridge". The 'Chief Musician' may be a band leader that isn't necessarily the worship leader. Many churches have a worship leader or songwriter that may not necessarily be a musician, and another person that leads the band in the sense of giving musical instructions.