Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When Leadership Isn't Qualified to Lead

Hello everyone.

First let me say I am new here and am so glad I found this forum to discuss issues with other Christians. I know it's only my first post but I need to share an issue I am dealing with at my church that maybe some of you can offer suggestions for me.

I have been an active musician in worship leadership for 13 years now. I have been playing guitar for over 20 years. In my current church I am part of a contemporary worship team that our church allotted a separate, second service for us to play. The first service is very traditional. Our team began over 3 years ago. Our worship leader (he was also the youth pastor) left our church in late Octobe to take a senior pastor position in another church. Our senior pastor immediately hired another young (21) college student to take over the very next week.

The new guy is nice but the problem is he can't sing at all and can't play guitar very well and he plays out of tune too. He plays his guitar very rigidly and everything he plays sounds exactly the same. I have been dealing with this for eight weeks now and feel it's time for me to resign as lead guitarist.

Let me clarify, I do not believe every member in a worship team needs to be the best musician in the world to be able to play in a worship setting but I do believe you have to be AT LEAST able to play well with others. This is not happening. I believe he is also tone deaf. He told me he thinks his voice sounds good and he can't hear what people mean when they he shouldn't sing. That tells me he's tone deaf as well as when I have to politely suggest we tune up (because he can't hear his guitar out of tune).

Ok, what would you do?

First off, don't quit just yet. I understand your frustration, but one of the things I learned over the years is a little patience and toughness goes a long way.