Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to do violin other than melody?

Hi everyone,
    I am a newbie here. I am working with one of the high school girls in my church who plays violin (classical instruction) but who has a real heart for worship. I don't play violin...just your run-of-the-mill guitarist w/out a lot of music theory background. But I am working with her to play with our worship team. I don't think she really knows much music theory either. She is playing with us on the 20th, and so we practiced with lead sheets and her playing the melody. (She did well with that.) I would love for her to be able to learn to begin to improvise, but have no idea how to help her get started. Thoughts?? Suggestions??

Thanks,
    Monica

I'm in a fairly similar boat, my sister plays the flute, and doesn't know that much music theory. I play piano at small weekly meetings, and she usually plays the melody, either written out beforehand or just by ear. Last week she asked about learing basic improv. I know a fair bit of theory, but more to do with chords on the piano then making up a fill or harmony or whatever. So I'm very interested to see what suggestions you get!

Comment

Hi Monica...what a fun problem. Here's the bad news: there's no "quick-fix" for this unless this girl has phenomenal pitch. That said, anyone can learn to improvise over a chord chart, particularly when it is in support of the melody line and not a true improvised solo. So with the hope that I don't get too technical right off the bat (that's fair warning), here's a couple of steps to get her started.

1. Learn all the modes. Improvising always begins with knowing the modes (scales starting on notes other than the root note) that chords are built off within a particular key. Any classically trained player should know all the major and minor scales. Unfortunately, improvising in pop music isn't as simple as saying that a Dm chord will be built of a D minor scale.