2 Teams Saga

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2 Teams Saga

Hello out there. I just need a few thoughts of wisdom as I am in a new voyage. I have led worship for 15 years and always worked with one team regardless at what church I was at. I am now in a new place. I have been working with 2 teams for about 4 months. Each has there own vocals,piano,drummer, etc. Both teams need to learn the same songs and music since we are all 1 ministry. We will have to pull from each other from time to time when we are short vocals/musicians. We will also be ministring together as one big team from time to time. So my main issue and concern is this:

1. Should we all practice at the same time?
    2. Both band and vocals at the same time?
    3. Any additional thoughts and questions would be greatly received and appreciated

At present we practice on Sat and run through Sundays set list then practice new songs, but at this point most of our rehearsal is going over Sundays set list for am/pm. My main vision/goal is for everbody to know all the songs.

Blessings

Hi raindance,
    I came into a larger church about 14 months ago with the same potential ... "multiple teams". In your case, this is already established so to answer your questions, I'd recommend that you probably can't really have one big practice without wasting a lot of time. This is simply because you have duplicate rhythm section. I cannot imagine trying to let both drummers play simultaneously ... each will interpret the song a little bit differently. Same goes for piano, etc.

The one thing you COULD do is consolidate all the vocals, and have one big vocal rehearsal, then let the separate rhythm sections work it out on the Sunday run throughs (if they are good enough to do it that quickly) or on Saturdays.