Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old Hymns to New Music

Hello!

I am a campus pastor at Mercer University, and God has given us a very talented group of musicians. Our ministry, RUF, has been known for rewriting music for older hymns. Some examples of this can be found here: Indelible Grace Music. Our music team would like to record a CD of some of these hymns, but we do not really understand the copyright rules about doing so. I thought you all might know where I could get some information on this.

Particular questions we have are:

1. What constitutes a hymn being in the public domain? If it is public domain can the tune be rewritten without any copyright infringement?
    2. If a hymn is copyrighted, how do you go about seeking permission to use it to a new tune? Are royalties due to the author once the music is rewritten? Can these royalties be paid once, or are they to be paid as the song is sold?

Thanks! Any help here is good help.

Please let me know if there is another section of this site I should post on.

Grace and Peace,

Rev. Chris "Buck" Rogers
    RUF Campus Pastor, Mercer University

As far as I know, if the song is over 30 years old it is under public domain and copyright rules do not apply. The song can be made, re-made and such without any concern for copyright rules.

IF I AM WRONG SOMEONE PLEASE EDUCATE ME.
    Love the Lord your God with all your heart with your soul with all your mind and with all your strength!!

Comment

Check this link for some public domain information:

Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States
      Associate Director of Worship & Media at St. Simons Community Church .He is also the content curator and editor here at The Worship Community.

Comment

Cheering you on