!-- Beacon Ads Ad Code -->

Sponsor Ad:

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are today's songs unsingable by your team?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are today's songs unsingable by your team?

I find that a lot of today's songs and the tutorials that accompany them (i.e. youtube, etc.) are in keys that are way too high for my average singers. I never hear anyone saying much about this so I wonder if it's just me. It also begs the question: if it's too high for my average worship singers, is it too high for the average congregation?

I'm not a voice expert but any song that hits a "C" or higher is pressing the range of most of my singers. Tomlin and other artists are regularly singing into the "E" and "F" range.

I find that I have to transpose a lot of songs down which of course does not always yield the best chord formations and affects the original sound of the song. This also takes time to do and I'm only part time.

Am I completely off base?

I feel the same as you. I wish I had that high tenor voice! but alas!
    I didn't mean to be inaccurate, but I wasn't trying to be precise.

Comment

We've had this same conversation a few times here...yes, many songs are difficult to sing. Lower the key and move on. And, don't believe the lie that every person must be able to sing every note in order for the song to be usable.

Nate
      Practical Worship

Please Pray For My Wife

Comment

Some songs are too high, some are too low. Because the congregation is made up of all kinds of different voices, we just find the sweet spot and rock it. For us it's Low Bb to High D.

But what I do for songs that are really high like Tomlin or Israel Houghton stuff is let a lady lead it. It will be in the bottom to middle of their power natural range and it works very well.

I'll have our guys either sing low or a high harmony.

There's no rule that says one person has to sing lead through the entire set list. We switch it up.