Sequencing for a fuller sound?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sequencing for a fuller sound?

Does anyone here sequence or create backing tracks to create a fuller sound? I'm working with a few people on my team but missing some key players, a bass is most needed. I was thinking about sequencing the drums (I'm a drummer) and bass (I'm a bass player) and then having piano, acoustic guitar (I lead on acoustic) and keyboard play along with the tracks. I don't particularly like the idea of not having all live musicians but at the same time I'm limited to the volunteers I have.

If you do this, what are your thoughts on the equipment you use? The sequencer? Or do you just mix down to a wav file and play along with that? I have a Roland hardware unit but also Ableton/Cubase, etc. that I could use to combine the midi sequencing and live tracks.

Thanks for your help and response.

-Let's Rock

If you have piano and keys, maybe you could get your Sting or Geddy Lee on and lead from the bass? You may not start off the songs but it could be an opportunity for keys or piano to start off a song?

With a piano, you aren't hurting as bad for bass if the piano player is using their left hand in a traditional manner.

How about your keys player? Could they leverage some keys effects and fill out the bottom end a little?

My point is, don't overcomplicate it. Lately, I've been on a team that the leader plays acoustic or electric, I play electric, we have a bass (that isn't there sometimes -I might fill in there) and a drummer (who is often out in the summer). Long story short, we often don't have a full team- but we go with what we have. It's actually been a good experience- it puts us in a position where we can take the same songs we've been doing and give them a different feel and create a different worship atmosphere.