When the audience is too loud?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When the audience is too loud?

So I'm a worship leader and guitarist at my local church. I'm not exceptionally talented or experienced but so far I've been doing fine.

Recently I've noticed that when I lead worship, especially some of the more well known songs such as "10,000 Reasons" and "This Is Amazing Grace", some of the kids (school-aged) sitting in the front row like to sing exceptionally loud. Not saying that it's a bad thing, but quite often they will sing off key (because they are so loud), and overpower my voice from the monitor speakers, which causes me to stumble sometimes.

Just wondering if there is anything I can do to mitigate this in future services. I don't want to tell the kids to sing softer because they are singing from their hearts when they worship. I don't think we can afford to buy in-ear monitors because we are not very rich, but any other suggestions would be gratefully considered. Thanks

Hi JasoLag,

What a wonderful problem to have! Like you, I do think that's a great problem to have, although it has caused you some difficulties.

My first thought did run to in-ears, but they are expensive, especially if you're looking at anything decent and worthwhile (like most musical and AV equipment).

If you can't push the monitors any harder due to risk of stage spill, maybe you could look at getting some more singers to help out with the melody. Is it just you leading worship, or do you have a band and/or other singers you can lean on?

Otherwise, perhaps just let the kids lead those favourite songs! Back off for a bit, have a laugh, enjoy their singing, then join in again once you have found your bearings.

All the best with it - the sound of kids singing is one of the best things on the planet!

Steffie.

Comment